top of page

week 13: Finale

Gardens by the Bay: SuperTrees

If you've watched Crazy Rich Asians specifically the wedding afterparty, you'd probably recognize the luminous tree-like structures! Although I've been to gardens by the bay quite a few times, I finally got the chance to walk on the supertree walkway and see the light show. After eating at Satay by the Bay (the hawker food center in Gardens by the Bay), my friends and I went to see the supertrees and experience the walkway. The bridge is connected by three supertrees and you can see a clear view of the Marina Bay Sands Hotel and the city. After coming down from the walkway, we watched the show which had fun music and lights that synced to the sound. It was common for people of all ages to be out and enjoy the show, lying down to look up at the tall structures. I didn't recognize all the songs being played but I'll include some of my favorites!





 

Cela Vie

Cela Vie is a restaurant and bar located on the top of Marina Bay Sands. Being on the 57th floor, it lets you experience a beautiful view. This is definitely a place you need to visit in Singapore!




 

Coast to Coast cycling Trial

During one of my last days in Singapore, I spent it with friends cycling through the busy streets. We did the C2C trail and started from Jurong East renting bikes from a Gocycle shop. Along the trail, there are several checkpoints and signs to follow. The first stop was at Bukit Batok Nature Park and there we saw a large canyon-like wall. The next stop was at Hindlhede Nature Park, which had another wall but a huge pond in front of it as well, looking at it felt like a Jurassic Park moment. We saw some fish and many turtles popping up at the surface. When we continued our journey it started pouring on and off, and I have never gotten caught in the rain before so it was unpleasant but I got used to it. After all, we couldn't stop riding since we were on a time crunch to return the bikes at the nearest shop or else risk being charged extra for the bike rentals. We did get lost at some parts and then had moments of intense speeding making my legs very tired but, we made it! It was a hectic experience but still fun.





 

And that was the end of my wonderful exchange semester in Singapore! Going on exchange was always the dream but having many friendships and creating so many memories with them is something I never imagined would be a highlight in my life. I hope my blogs inspired you and made you interested in doing an exchange semester, thanks for following me on my journey!

bottom of page